My title
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Instagram

Local, up to date and current directory for baby businesses in Suffolk.

Getting to know your Business

Do you have a shop front? Where are you based?

I provide support to families throughout East Anglia. Most of the time my services are private home visits in the comfort of people’s own homes. Occasionally I run workshops that are arranged in mutually convenient locations for the attendees throughout East Anglia.

How did your business come about? Did it start as a hobby or did you know that you wanted it to be a business from the very beginning?

I have always loved animals and graduated from Lincoln University in 2006 with a first class honours degree in BSc (Hons) Animal Behaviour Science. After being employed by a veterinary group for nearly 10 years and then starting my own family it became clear that I wanted to specialise in something that I feel passionate about and where I feel there is a need for specific support for families with babies/toddlers/young children that have a family dog. This resulted in the founding of my business Dogs Bumps Babies & Beyond ‘Helping to prepare your dog for family life’.

Tell me a bit about your business, what makes it special?

This is a very specific niche and as far as I am aware I am the only qualified behaviourist specialising in dog & baby and dog & toddler dynamics in the UK. As well as being highly qualified I am also highly experienced which means that I am able to provide the best possible support for families in creating harmonious family life between their two legged and four legged family members.

How long have you been in business?

I launched Dogs Bumps Babies & Beyond in October 2014.

What is your favourite part of being your own boss?

I love being my own boss predominantly because it enables me to fit work around my family.

Do you offer products or services? Please give information about these products / services.

I offer a variety or Services to expectant families and families with babies/toddlers/young children that have a canine or feline family member including:

•International Dogs & Storks® and Dogs & Toddlers™ Programs as both Workshops and Home Visits •Practical Training Follow Up Home Visits

•Problem Behaviour Home Visits (within the realms of Baby/Toddler/Child and Dog Dynamics)

•Pre-Dog/Puppy Home Visit: Set your family and home up for success before bringing home your canine family member

•Cats & Babies Home Visit: helping to prepare your cat for family life.

What is your favourite product or service you offer?

I used to like the Dogs & Storks program the best, however more recently the Dogs & Toddlers program is proving very popular and I love to turn things around for a family in a matter of a couple of hours improving the relationship between their toddler and family dog. Educating parents is one of the main aspects of my job, once parents have become ‘Dog Aware’ it results in a much more harmonious home for both their toddler and their dog.

If I want to hire you for your services, how can I do this/find you?

All my contact details are on my website along with more information about the services I offer. Email: gemma@dbbb.co.uk Tel: 07572593582 www.dbbb.co.uk  Facebook page

Time to get a bit personal…

What kind of family commitments do you need to juggle along with your business? How do you find balance?

With both my work and home life surrounding young children and dogs a lot of the time I find that work and family life does kind of roll in to one. My daughter is coming up to 4 years old and my son is 5 years old, these two keep me very busy. I now tend to work on set days enabling me to have much needed quality family time together, knowing that my time is managed better enables me to enjoy my own children more!

What is your favourite tv shows, food, or song?

My guilty pleasure is watching Hollyoaks, I have watched this program ever since it began! My favourite food quite often changes when I find something new but I would say at the moment gnocchi with pesto. I love music and have lots of favourite songs, commercial drum and bass and garage music is awesome!

What can you be found doing on a weekend? or when you have time off?

My time-off usually surrounds caring for my menagerie of animals that I have at home including: 3 dogs, 1 hamster, 1 bearded dragon, 5 chickens and 5 fish. I enjoy cycling and hope to take up running again soon which I used to do a lot before having children.

What is your favourite place to get away to? And why?

Taking my own dogs for a walk some place new……… I love exploring new walks. If I had to choose one I would have to say the north Norfolk coast has to be one of my favourite ever places to visit.

Save

About Vicky Barbour-Andrews

The Baby Experts - All round crazy lady, owner of two businesses, two little people and a husband. I am one of those people who just doesn't stop. On both of my maternity leaves I have chosen to start up a new businesses with my new 'spare time'. Some may call me crazy, some may call me stupid but to me I am just me, take me as I am as I do anything for a hassle free life as I believe it is for the living and enjoying - grab it by the balls people as we don't know how long we have here!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: